My Five Year Reading Plan

There are so many of wonderful classics sitting on my bookshelves NOT being read by anyone.  Why haven’t I read them?  When will I read them?  I suppose some of the reasons I haven’t read them sooner might be fear.  Fear that I’m not smart enough for William Faulkner or clever enough for Dorothy Parker or patient enough for James Joyce.

Or maybe I am perfectly able to read the works of these fine authors.  Such a lot of books to commit to and I’m excited to get started!  The first book from my list is Ernest Hemingway’s, The Sun Also Rises.

  • Cervantes – Don Quixote
  • Franz Kafka – The Trial
  • William Faulkner – Sanctuary, The Sound and the Fury, The Reivers
  • George Orwell – 1984
  • Oscar Wilde – The Picture of Dorian Gray, The Importance of Being Ernest
  • James Joyce – Ulysses, Dubliners
  • Ernest Hemingway – The Sun Also Rises, A Farewell to Arms
  • John Steinbeck – Grapes of Wrath
  • Virginia Woolf – A Room of One’s Own, Mrs. Dalloway
  • Willa Cather – My Antonia, O’ Pioneer, A Lost Lady
  • Pearl S Buck – The Good Earth
  • Jack London – White Fang
  • Henry David Thoreau – Walden
  • Walt Whitman – Leaves of Grass
  • Joseph Heller – Catch 22
  • Ralph Ellison – Invisible Man
  • Tom Wolfe – The Bonfire of the Vanities
  • Eudora Welty – The Optimist’s Daughter
  • Dorothy Parker – The Portable Dorothy Parker
  • Norman Mailer – The Naked and the Dead
  • John Updike – The Witches of Eastwick
  • EL Doctorow – Ragtime
  • Gertrude Stein – The Autobiography of Alice B Toklas
  • F Scott Fitzgerald – Tender is the Night, The Beautiful and the Damned
  • Henry Miller – Tropic Of Cancer
  • Sylvia Plath – The Bell Jar
  • Homer – The Iliad
  • Herodotus – The Histories
  • The Collected Works of TS Eliot
  • Daphne Du Maurier – Rebecca
  • Hermann Hesse – Siddhartha

If you were to make your own reading bucket list, which books would you want to read?

About amosgirl

Now that I'm a grownup, I'm learning to use my words. The stories of my life and my family began as an expression of my love. Please enjoy - I hope they make you smile.
This entry was posted in Books Authors and Bookstores that help make life worthwhile and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

