Dreaming of Ancestors

My ancestors keep contacting me.

Last night was something new.

Gramps, Uncle Bud and my Mom in her 40’s.

This was definitely something new.

I’ve had other Dreamtime visits.

But never Gramps, never Uncle Bud, and never Mom in her 40’s.

 *

We were all in the kitchen in the home where I grew up.

Hello antique-white cabinets, fluffy white curtains, and the patterns on the counter-top.

I was making coffee for the four of us.  In a French Press?

How old was I? Was I in my 40’s too?

 *

Back to the coffee.

I poured it out and realized I had forgotten to add the coffee.

And because it was a dream, there was a wonderful surreal quality.

Gramps laughed and said, “I guess we can drink it the way it is.  Even though it is missing something.”

Mom says “It’s okay honey.  Look at the breakfast Uncle Bud has made.”

He made an ice cream omelet.

Which only makes sense in dreams.

But when you’re awake, it’s just plain gross.

Uncle Bud smiled.  He seemed to be watching over us all.

And it felt –

Wonderful.

I miss them all.

It is a gift to know they can visit.

They love me in my dreams.

I wonder why they are visiting now.

And who might show up next.

 

AmyLee 3/30/2016

 

 ***

When I woke up yesterday, my dream was still fresh in my mind.  I’ve been thinking about it since.  Have you  had Dreamtime visits from loved ones?  How did the dream make you feel?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About amosgirl

Now that I'm a grownup, I'm learning to use my words. The stories of my life and my family began as an expression of my love. Please enjoy - I hope they make you smile.
This entry was posted in Thoughts to Share and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dreaming of Ancestors

  1. Donna Fields says:

    Yes I loved it, dreams lots of times makes beautiful charming stories

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Caztime says:

    I loved this! My favourite part: “He made an ice cream omelet. Which only makes sense in dreams.” Looking forward to having my own Dreamtime visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda Whalen says:

    Cool Amy! I have not had one of these. Say hi to them for me ! 😀

    Sent from Linda’s phone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. usfman says:

    Yes I would love an ice cream omelet with pistachio flavor.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

