The Music of Grief

I’ll fly away – 1929 –  Albert E. Brumley

Some bright morning when this life is over

I’ll fly away

To that home on God’s celestial shore

I’ll fly away

I’ll fly away, oh glory

I’ll fly away in the morning

When I die hallelujah by and by

I’ll fly away

When the shadows of this life have gone

I’ll fly away

Like a bird from these prison walls I’ll fly

I’ll fly away

I’ll fly away, oh glory

I’ll fly away in the morning

When I die hallelujah  by and by

I’ll fly away

Oh how glad and happy when we meet

I’ll fly away

No more cold iron shackles on my feet

I’ll fly away

I’ll fly away oh glory

I’ll fly away in the morning

When I die hallelujah by and by

I’ll fly away

I’ll fly away oh glory

I’ll fly away in the morning

When I die hallelujah by and by

I’ll fly away

Just a few more weary days and then

I’ll fly away

To a land where joys will never end

I’ll fly away

I’ll fly away oh glory

I’ll fly away in the morning

When I die hallelujah by and by

I’ll fly away

I’ll fly away

1916941_1033979749201_3657566_n

 

Music is memory.  A song can transport us; and return us to lost moments.  The notes, a blessing from our loved ones.  The symphony of sweet, sweet sadness.

***

I realized the strength in my daughter when I asked her to sing for her grandmother’s celebration of life.  She accepted immediately; and we agreed the rehearsals would be at my home.  I asked if she thought she could make it through the song okay without breaking down.  I couldn’t even listen to the song without crying.  She shrugged and said she’d be okay.  My beautiful little bird took I’ll Fly Away and made it a gift to her grandmother.

The day  of the celebration came and she performed with such grace and purity. I felt the presence of my mother in each note and word.  Our deepest layers of emotion were given voice and it was beautiful.

***

Song, memory, scent, taste.  It all touches me more deeply since I lost my mom.  I’m not sure if it’s part of my grieving; or if this is just a new state of being.  A new vulnerability.  A new way for the universe to observe the insides of my soul.

Miss you mom, with all my heart.

 

About amosgirl

Now that I'm a grownup, I'm learning to use my words. The stories of my life and my family began as an expression of my love. Please enjoy - I hope they make you smile.
This entry was posted in Stories about lovely people and things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Music of Grief

Leave a Reply

